LA vs. NY

March 1, 2009 at 7:48 pm | Posted in OhMidge Advice | Leave a comment

Some of you know that I recently moved from New York City to Los Angeles. I drove cross country with two kittens, a beta fish, and a boyfriend in my 4-door sedan. It was a glorious trip. We had tons of fun and I think I put on at least 5 pounds in Hot Fries and drinks with way too much added sugar.

We decided to move from NY to LA for a number of reasons. One, we both had always wanted to live in LA at some point and after years of freezing our asses off in dirty and congested NY, we decided we might as well make the change sooner  rather than later. We also like the energy more in NY. That’s right, “the energy”. (I was like this even before I moved to California). NY is so rushed and frantic and stressed out. LA is much slower and simpler and more zen.

Financially, LA is cheaper and greener and you get the ocean and the moutains, a nice place with a bedroom,  a full kitchen, a true to life living room and dining room, a yard with a fence and the mountains right around you, for $2,200 less than the hole you lived in on 1st and 1st with two people you couldn’t stand and some cockroaches. Gross!

504d53a3b314868b9303a532807156a2

I went back to NY about a month ago for a wedding and was so completely horrified that i had lived there for so long. Yes, my college was there and I am really glad I lived in NY, but goodness gracious! I can’t believe I survived that long! My boyfriend, Jeff, lived there for 15 years! He did the time and he’s glad he did too, but now it’s nice to be in a place a little less chaotic.

logo-new-york-city

People seem to be more friendly here and they wear more colors. The bagels and the coffee are not as good and I still haven’t found a good pizza place, but I really only like Papa Gino’s anyway. Maybe I should try to get them to start some locations out here…

It’s true, I think, that education is valued less on this coast. On the East Coast there all these colleges and people are proud of having gone to school. Here, school never really comes up. Experience and who you know, are more valued here, and that can kind of blow when you just moved here and you don’t know many people. Unemployment just went up in California. Now, 1 out of 10 people in the state is unemployed. That’s pretty damn high!

I was watching Forensic Files last night though, and they said that 60% of people in the Philippines were unemployed at some point in the 90’s. That’s really really high, so I should just get over it.  I should be happy I can go down to Yum Yum Donuts and get better donuts than the “It’s Time To Make The Donuts” guy ever dreamed of.

Be at peace, and put all anxious thoughts and worries aside.

I would love to hear what you all think about each city. Which one you prefer, etc.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

